Friday, December 06, 2019
Text Size

2018 Queensland RC Laser Championship


The 2018 Queensland RC Laser Championship was sailed and decided on Sunday 22nd July. Paradise Radio Yacht Club hosted the event on Emerald Lakes where we had a light southerly which switched to southeast. There was a mixture of A and B sails, but most races were won by those using the larger rigs even though there were a few nosedives on the downwind legs.

Ian Ashe, the RO got the racing under way shortly after 10.00 and, although there were some course adjustments needed during the day, the result was that the best skippers came out on top.

Thanks to the ever-reliable David Black we had progress results at lunchtime and then the final figures after 18 races courtesy of Bill Clancy and Ralph Nahrung.

It was very close for first and second with home skipper Peter Burford and Kawana visitor Geoffrey Morris each having 5 race wins. Local skipper Geoff Smith through consistent sailing took out third placing. In addition to Peter and Geoffrey, other race winners were Brenton Rowney [3 wins], Laurie Hinchcliff, Daniel Bergan, Nick Pye, Trent Jarratt and Gary Russell so the honours were spread widely.

We had 16 starters - Roman Wenger from Maitland (NSW), Geoffrey Morris, Gary Russell and John Halloran all from Kawana and 12 from PRYC including Linton Ward who made his way down from Cairns. Although there was a bit of work for the observers all problems were solved on the water.

The skippers all expressed their appreciation and thanks to the officials and observers without whom it would be impossible to have a successful regatta.   Pete O’Grady


Login Form